A Taste of Life at Windrush Alpacas

April 28, 2007

Online in Albuquerque

Filed under: alpaca, Alpaca Fiber, Alpacas, camelids, General — alpacalady @ 7:19 am

I’ver made it to Albuquerque in one piece and have even managed to figure out how to log on to the wireless Internet connection at the hotel.

The drive here was a good one, the day was warm and still and I was lucky to see a beautiful sunset over the mountains as I approached the Albuquerque area.  I deliberately left Clovis later in the day to avoid the Friday rush hour and also because I love to see the evening lights of Albuquerque as the Interstate descends down into the valley.

The hotel here is packed and it took me a long while to find a parking space.  I asked the reception staff if they are always this busy and they explained that this weekend is the Gathering of Nations Pow Wow and so the hotel is at full capacity.  I suspect that the breakfast bar will be packed in the morning so I am really glad that the New Mexico Alpaca Breeders have arranged to have a continental breakfast served at the seminar.

So this morning we will start to learn the method which the Two Coarse Broads recommend when it comes to sorting fiber.  This seminar could change the whole way we do things at shearing time! 

Ric is still planning on shearing some of the alpacas at home, and while I would usually turn my cell phone off during a seminar this time it will be set to “vibrate” just in case Ric has news of Queen.  Dear Queen was acting a little differently on Friday and her udder was slightly larger so who knows, maybe her cria is thinking about making an appearance.

So I had better start making my way to the adjoining hotel where the seminar is being held to give myself time to meet and greet all who are attending the seminar and to grab a quick something to eat to set me up for the day.  It promises to be an interesting and good day!

Rosemary

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

