A Taste of Life at Windrush Alpacas

February 19, 2009

The Places Alpacas Take You

Filed under: alpaca, Alpacas, camelids, General, llama — Tags: , , , , — alpacalady @ 7:21 am

Manflas Grapes Logo

Manflas Grapes Logo

 

Have you ever noticed how when something or someone enters you life you suddenly start to notice things connected to that new interest appearing where you would not have noticed those things before.  Sometimes, if you are lucky that interest will take you on a little magical journey away from the routine chores of everyday life.

 

While preparing my lunch on Wednesday I looked down at the bag of grapes I had brought out of the refrigerator.  There on the bag was the company logo for the grape producer and the logo featured an alpaca!  This is the first time I had seen an alpaca logo on something that did not appear to be alpaca related.  I read the print on the bag, the company name appeared to be Manflas and the grapes were marked Produce of Chile.  Now things were starting to make sense, while many alpacas are found in Peru there is also a pretty good alpaca population in Chile.

 

Being curious about anything alpaca I decided to do a little research to see what I could find out about Manflas grapes and why they have an alpaca as part of their logo.  (I guess it could also be a llama, but the ears look more alpaca shaped to me).

 

It wasn’t hard to find the company who produced my grapes and I soon found myself on a little virtual trip to Chile courtesy of Agricola Manflas (also know as Manflas Ltd. Agricultural Company).

 

Agricola Manflas are located in the valley of Copiapo in the north of Chile.  According to the information on their website, the valley where they are located was named by the Incas “The Enchanted Valley” as a kind of homage to the majestic and colorful hills surrounding it.   Looking at the pictures of the area on the Manflas web site you can see why the Incas were so taken with the valley.  The mention of Incas on the website reinforces the alpaca connection as the Incas treasured alpacas.

 

Agricola Manflas have a beautiful website at www.manflas.cl with the whole site being available in both Spanish and English.  The website describes the history and goals of the company, the process of growing and harvesting the grapes, the type of grapes grown and the facilities available to their workforce.  Houses, a school that has an agricultural farm, a nursery, adult study programs and Internet access are some of the facilities available to the workers at Agricola Manflas.  There are even a couple of virtual tours of the Hacienda Manflas available to visitors to the web site.

 

If you have a few minutes to spare its worth paying a visit to the Agricola Manflas website.  Sadly I didn’t find a picture one of an alpaca or llama on the site and neither did I find any explanation of their logo.  The fact that there is mention of the Incas having been in that area leads me to believe that at some stage there probably were alpacas in there as the Incas treasured alpacas.  Most likely there were llamas in the area too.

 

I enjoyed my virtual trip to Chile, it was a nice little break from the dusty, windy day we were having – and I enjoyed the grapes too.   If I didn’t raise alpacas my curiosity would not have been aroused about the logo on my grape bag and the company that grew the grapes I was eating.  I would have never learnt about Agricola Manflas and the process those grapes went through to get from a valley in Chile to a grocery store in Clovis, New Mexico.  Sometimes alpacas take you places that you never expected to go – and talking of going places its time to go and get some more of those tasty grapes before Ric eats them all!

 

Rosemary

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

