A Taste of Life at Windrush Alpacas

January 22, 2009

A Bright Little Project Completed

One of the completed Nordic headbands

One of the completed Nordic headbandsThe second Nordic Head band. Both headbands are made from 100% alpaca yarn

 

Fresh off the knitting needles come these two Nordic headbands, both made, of course, from alpaca yarn.

 

The yarn is some that I had in stock for a while; it was spun and dyed for us at Royal Fiber Spinnery in Ruidoso, New Mexico.  The yarn comprised of a group of single skeins in brightly dyed colors and I decided rather than let it languish on the shelf any longer I would make it into something that I could sell.  When I came across the patterns for the Nordic headbands I knew they would work well for those single skeins of yarn.

 

It was lovely to work with some brightly colored yarn for a change.  It seems that all of my recent requests for knitted goods have been for black colored items.  Now I know that black is always a chic color, but I have to admit that things become a bit monotonous when every project you work on is black.  So it was definitely time to put some color into my life – literally.

 

The headbands work really well in our wind blown climate, they keep your ears warm and also help keep your hair in place.  I will take them down to our booth at the Crafters Mall this weekend and see if they sell.

 

Now having made the headbands I am left with several partial skeins of brightly colored yarn left, so I will need to research a new project or two for the remaining yarn.  In the meantime I have a request for me to knit an alpaca balaclava in – yes, you’ve guessed it, black.

 

Rosemary

2 Comments »

  1. Your headband is lovely – beautiful colors

    Comment by Hedy Price Paley SpinningStar Alpacas — February 6, 2009 @ 5:37 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

